Student Visa

Standard

It was raining hard and the road is dirty, as I listened to the sound of rain in my windshield it’s difficult to find my way in the dark especially that not all electric post have working  bulbs in them. Then I saw a young woman trying to wave for a taxi, she was drenched  clasping a folder as she tries to protect it from getting wet. Because of the weather it’s hard to get a taxi.  I’m on my way home anyway so I stopped in front of the young woman. I asked where she is going and she was polite to say where which happened to be close to where I’m heading. She tell her name is Brenda. With out further question she seem to trust me and told me what is with the folder. I gave the extra towel that I keep in my car which she readily accepted and dried her hair. She said she just got her student visa.  She told me she is a Nurse and she is going to London. She tried to hide the tears as she relates how hard it was for her and her parents to collect money for the visa and finally it came. She promised her parents to help in sending her other sibling to college and will work hard to pay the loan from the bank. I know that a collateral is needed before you can get a loan to any bank this days. I turned on the music, it was my favorite..The Prayer. I told her you are a good daughter with a  great heart. Then I wondered how can she earn money if she is going there with a student visa? But I left it in the air because she said we are now close to her house. Before she stepped out of the car I told her to wherever you go take care of yourself, your decision is critical and it has a great impact in your future. She said thank you and waved good-bye still clasping her folder.

That day I became a good Samaritan. But It was hard for me to sleep that night thinking about what she said. Why Nurses this days are desperate to find work? Do they have to go to London to find a job  in a guise of a student visa? Where is their confidence? Why does the government allow this professionals to be misguided? Was it the government’s fault or the system and people who try to lure others just to make money.Exhausted I finally drifted to sleep.

The following day I got a call from my niece. She is also a nurse and told me with an exciting voice that  she is now in London. What??????????? How did you go there? With a student visa? I was disappointed but she seemed to be coping well ..the question..until when..

You don’t need to be a BSN to become a caregiver. after all why did you go to school and pay tons of money just to become a nurse but end up a caregiver in London or Canada? Say it’s just a stepping stone but years is moving forward not backwards. I just hope Brenda will do her best and dream bigger than becoming a caregiver in London and so with my niece.

Note: This is just a story I crafted in my mind. Any similarity is purely coincidental.

S A J E R O S A

.

6 responses »

  1. Based on my experience, when your thinking of becoming a nurse in LOndon by having a student visa first, a stepping stone as they’ve said, please make sure you have 2 years experience in a hospital setting, an IELTS of above 7 in all 4 categories, lastly a sponsor for you to do an adaptation for 6 months, and register for NMC then aloha!! a UK Nurse. Easy to do when your reading it but from 100% of the student’s here only 5% did it because of the regulation here in UK which is very strict at the moment.

    • Thank you Saula,

      I hope that those who are aspiring to go to London with a student visa would read your comment. In this way, it gives them an idea and what to expect. I know for sure that a lot just want to get a job but strive more, work hard and I know you all can achieve if your ultimate goal is to practice as a nurse and not just be satisfied of what you are earning right now.

      Thank you ,
      SAJEROSA

  2. Hi there, just stumbled on your website from reddit. It is not blog post I would typically read, but I liked your thoughts on it. Thank you for making something worth reading!

  3. hi everyone…. when we are back home if we hear the place LONDON on our mind wow its a nice place… that’s why we eager to come and what we know is its easy to get a working permit after a year of working as a carer.. but no.. we are here already we just try to do our very best..now we already know…

    • It was not an easy decision when you are faced with the masked bright future in London that recruiters try to engage a pry versus an unsure future that needs a lot of patience waiting for that great opportunity that seem to come by so rare yet considered a golden dig of treasure worth waiting for. Now that you are in their nest, you need to use your wings and wits to fly and be somebody and not just another bird bringing food to their nest. The decision is yours. The golden dig still awaits for those who try hard to find a brighter future. Take care.

      SAJEROSA

Leave a Reply

