Why do practitioners need to bridge anticoagulation with Heparin while initiating Coumadin?

Standard

Heparin is a fast acting anticoagulant where you can achieve anticoagulation with in 24 hours. Whereas coumadin will take at least 3-5 days before achieving a therapeutic level. During hospitalization, depending upon the reason for anticoagulation, most clinician prefers to initiate coumadin and discharge pt once INR is therapeutic. During the days when INR still subtherapeutic, Heparin is used to bridge the gap. Of note, Heparin does not affect PT/INR but PTT.

27 responses »

  1. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. What you said made a lot of sense. But, think about this, what if you added a little content? I mean, I dont want to tell you how to run your blog, but what if you added something to maybe get peoples attention? Just like a video or a picture or two to get people excited about what youve got to say. In my opinion, it would make your blog come to life a little bit.

  3. This is a message to the admin. I discovered your “https://sajerosablog.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/why-do-practitioners-need-to-bridge-anticoagulation-with-heparin-while-initiating-coumadin/” page via Google but it was difficult to find as you were not on the first page of search results. This means you are missing out on a ton of website traffic from the search engines. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your website: http://venueseo.com/7-day-free-trial. I managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors from search engines than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

  4. Perhaps there is some thing not right with the site? The images on the topmost look a little messed up. Nice blog post nevertheless, continue the great work you are doing here!

  5. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back in the future. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  6. Certainly with your thoughts here and that i love your blog! I’ve bookmarked it making sure that I can come back & read more in the foreseeable future.

  7. I must say, as a lot as I enjoyed reading what you had to say, I couldnt help but lose interest after a while. Its as if you had a wonderful grasp on the subject matter, but you forgot to include your readers. Perhaps you should think about this from far more than one angle. Or maybe you shouldnt generalise so considerably. Its better if you think about what others may have to say instead of just going for a gut reaction to the subject. Think about adjusting your own believed process and giving others who may read this the benefit of the doubt.

    • Thanks for what you said, I will be carefull and always consider my readers. That’s why I need your comments, I find it interesting and always see it as constructive. For sure you will see an improvement. I know I have a lot more to include. Thanks once again.

      sajerosa

  8. Pingback: Click Here

  9. Pingback: link

  10. Pingback: What is the debt ceiling

  11. Pingback: here

Leave a Reply

